EPISODE 165 - Anniversary

Previously on DALLAS:

Southfork.....morning

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bobby walks into his and Pam's bedroom in the morning and looks around.  After a brief pause, he pours himself a drink from a bottle of J.R. Ewing Bourbon, then walks over to the dresser, opens the bottom drawer and pulls out a box.  Taking the box over to the sofa, he takes a seat, placing the box beside him.  He opens the box and takes out several things, one of which is a framed photo of himself and Pam, his first wife and Christopher's mother.  

Bobby takes a sip of his bourbon, then looks down at the photo before him, his mind flooding with memories of the first day he brought Pam home.  

 "Oh, Pam," he says softly, looking at the photo.  "Can it really be forty years ago today?"  A slight smile comes to Bobby's face as he remembers back to that day, exactly 40 years ago, when he married Pamela Jean Barnes in New Orleans and brought her home to meet his family...


"Bobby?"  Ann's voice from the bedroom doorway snaps him out of the past and back to the present.

 

"I didn't hear you come in."

 

"Looks like you're deep in thought about somethin'," Ann says, walking into the room.

 

"Just memories, is all."

 

"What sort of memories?"

 

"Nothin'.  It's not important,"  Bobby says, putting the photo back into the box and closing the lid.  He lets out a deep sigh, then stands.  "It's a beautiful day.  I think I'll go out for a ride."

 

"You're not goin' in to the office today?"  Ann asks.

 

"No, I figured it was time I took a day off."

 

"Are you still angry with me because I asked Jimmy to leave?"  

 

"Frankly, Annie, YES, I am a bit upset about that, and I don't understand it.  What the hell happened between you and my nephew that so bad that you asked him to move off Southfork?"

 

"Bobby, I'm sorry.  I know I overreacted.  But, it's just that Jimmy is obsessed with Katherine Wentworth and that crazy daughter of hers."

 

"And to be honest, I'm a little obsessed with finding those two and bringing them to justice, myself, and for the life of me, I can't understand why you're not, especially after what Katherine did to you.  In fact, there's a lot of things you've been doing lately that I don't understand.  Now if you'll excuse me, I'm gonna go for a ride.  I need to clear my mind."  Bobby walks past Ann and leaves the room.  

 

Ann fights back tears after he is gone, worried that her impulsive decision to kick Jimmy off the ranch may have driven a wedge between her and Bobby.  Christopher comes to the bedroom door a few seconds later.  

 

"Ann?"  He says.

 

"Oh, Christopher," she says.

 

"Everything okay with you and Dad?"  Christopher asks.  "I just saw him coming downstairs and he walked right past me without saying a word."

 

"I really don't know,"  Ann replies.  "Your father seemed in a bad mood, and distracted."  She looks down at the box on the sofa and picks it up. Opening the box, she sees the framed photo of Bobby and Pam.  "He was lookin' at this."

 

Christopher walks over to her and looks in the box she  holds.  Taking the photo of his parents out, he looks at it.  "I guess that's it, then.  I should've realized today would be hard for him."

 

"Today?"  Ann asks.  "What's so significant about today?"

 

"Today would've been the 40th anniversary of the day Dad first married my mother."

 

"Oh, I should've remembered that,"  says Ann.  "No wonder he was lookin' at this photo."

 

"Do you know where he went?"  Christopher asks.

 

"Said he was goin' out ridin'.  I guess he needed some time alone."

 

"I'll go see if I can find him."  Christopher lovingly touches his stepmother's arm, then turns and leaves the room. After he's gone, Ann looks down at the photo she holds of Bobby and Pam.  "Pam, you really were beautiful, and you sure must've been somethin' special.  I'll never forget the very first time I heard your name," she says, a memory coming to her own mind.....

"Little did I know then, how closely our lives would one day be intertwined, even though I never met you,"  Ann says.  She places the photo back in the box, closes the lid, and puts the box back on the sofa.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cliff and Afton's apartment....

 

 

Dressed in her bathroom, Afton comes down the stairs that morning and finds Cliff staring out the window of the high rise apartment they share.  She stops at the bottom of the stairs and watches him for a few seconds.  "Cliff?"  She finally says.

 

"Huh?  What?"

 

"Are you okay?"

 

"Yeah, I'm fine."

 

Afton walks over to him.  "Is something wrong?  Something at Stone-Barnes?"

 

 

"No,"  Cliff says, turning to her.  "My mind isn't on business, for a change.  I was thinking about Pam."

 

"Pam?  Any particular reason?"

 

"Oh, yeah.  Today is a very significant day in my life.  A day I'll never forget because it's a day my life changed forever, and not for the better."

 

"Cliff, what are you talking about?"  Afton asks.

 

"It was 40 years today that I found out my sister had married Bobby Ewing, the son of the man I had always believed was the reason my father was a drunk, and my family was poor.  And as I said, my life hasn't been the same since."

 

"Wow.  40 years.  It's hard to believe Bobby and  Pam would've been married that long, had they stayed married the first time."

 

"40 years,"  Cliff says with a slight laugh.  "Feels like a lifetime."

 

"You still miss her a lot, don't you?"  Afton asks.

 

"More than I could ever say.  Y'know, growing up, Pam and I had it really rough.  Our mother had left us when I was just 5, and Pam was less than a year old.  Digger was drunk most of the time, so Aunt Maggie had to take care of us.  It was a hard life.  We did without a LOT of times.  But Aunt Maggie always managed go give us a lot of love, and that kind of made up for the other things we didn't have.  And, all those years Pam and I listened to our Daddy rant and rave about how Jock Ewing stole everything from him.  We both grew up hating the Ewings and blaming them for everything that was wrong in our lives.  I guess you could say we were jealous.  Here we were living in a small, run down house being raised by our hard working aunt, while the Ewing boys were raised in the lap of luxury out at Southfork Ranch.  Pam was even worse than I was growing up."

 

"Really?"  Afton asks.

 

"Oh, yeah.  When she was a kid, she use to take rocks and break windows out of the Ewing building downtown."

 

"What?  PAM?"

 

"Yep, sure did.  That's why it came as a complete shock to me when I found out that my anti-Ewing kid sister had married one of them,"  Cliff says, his mind traveling back in time to a day 40 years ago....

 

 

"But my reaction was NOTHING compared to how Digger reacted when he heard the news of Pam's marriage to Jock Ewing's son.  Oh, boy, if you'd been there to see the look on his face......"

 

 

 

"Well, I had nothing against Bobby, at least not back then,"  Cliff says.  "It was J.R. who was always the problem."

 

"J.R. was a problem for EVERYONE,"  Afton says, turning away from Cliff as she replays some memories of her own....

 

Returning to the present, Afton shakes her head.  "How did I ever let myself get involved with that man?"  She asks.

 

"You were no different from the many other women J.R. Ewing smooth talked into bed," says Cliff.  "The list is a long one.  Sue Ellen, Julie Grey, Kristin Shepard, Marilee Stone, Mandy Winger.......and the list could go on and on."

 

"That's a part of my life I'm certainly not proud of."

 

"Yeah, but look at you now,"  Cliff says.  "Even after all these years you're as beautiful as ever, you're successful, you've overcome things that would've broken a lot of women, AND, most importantly, you raised our daughter all alone, and raised her to be the kind of wonderful woman she is today.  Over all, not bad, Afton, DESPITE J.R.'s best efforts."

 

Afton looks at Cliff and smiles.

Southfork....

 Meanwhile, back at Southfork, Bobby steps down off his horse, walks over to the iron gate and enters the fenced in family cemetery containing the graves of some of his family members.  He pauses for a few seconds as he looks at

the graves of his grandfather, mother, and then J.R.  "Hello, Mama, J.R.  Grandpa,"  he says.  "I'm sorry that it's been so long since I've been out here to visit.  There's just been a lot goin' on, some good, some not so good.  And by the way, Mama, you have a new little great-granddaughter who's named after you.  YOUR granddaughter, J.R., and she's just beautiful.  Every bit as beautiful as the matriarch of this family she's named after.  But that's not the real reason I came out.  I came because.......I miss you, Mama.  And big brother, I can't even begin to tell you how much I miss you, even all the fights we had.  And we did have some doozies over the years, didn't we?"

 "Sometimes I wonder how we ever made it as far as we did in life without killin' each other,"  Bobby says.  As he 

 continues to stand at the graves, Christopher rides out to the cemetery on his horse.  Coming to a stop, he looks

 at his father for a moment, then gets off the horse and walks over to Bobby.  

 

"I had a feeling you'd be out here,"  Christopher says, taking his hat off as he approaches.  

 

"Yeah, I was just reliving some memories,"  says Bobby.  "You know, today would've been mine and Pam's anniversary."

 

"I know.  40 years, huh?  Long time."

 

"Yeah,"  Bobby says.  "In some ways, it feels like just yesterday that I first brought your mother home to Southfork."

 

"I always loved hearing that story.  Mom being a Barnes was an outsider in this family from the very start.  And the only one who made her feel welcome was Grandma."

 

Bobby smiles.  "Well, even Mama was a bit put off at first," he says, again thinking back to that day......

 

"But, it didn't take Mama long at all to come around, and before long, she and Pam were real close.  Mama thought of Pam as the daughter she never had."

 

"Dad, are you okay?  I mean, I know today is hard for you."

 

"I'm fine.  Just a lot of memories, and a lot of.........well, regrets, I suppose."

 

"Regrets?"  Christopher asks.  

 

"Yeah.  Your mother and I lost so much time together, and we had so LITTLE time.  Our whole first marriage was spent taking sides in the Barnes-Ewing feud, and me fighting J.R.  That was what led to our breakup in the first place."

 

"I thought that was because of Katherine."

 

"Katherine was the reason we divorced.  But your mother had already taken you and moved off Southfork after the death of your grandmother, Rebecca.  Pam blamed Rebecca's death on the feud, and, in a way, she was right.  I'll never forget the night Afton came to Southfork to tell Pam about Rebecca's accident....."

"And we may have gotten back together, if not for that letter,"  Bobby says.

 

"The letter you thought Mom wrote?"  Christopher.

 

"Yeah.  Katherine had forged a letter that she read to me, supposedly from Pam, telling me that she didn't wanna be married to me anymore....."

 

"Katherine Wentworth,"  Bobby angrily says.  "When I think of all the pain and destruction that woman has brought to my family over the years.........that's why I wanna see her caught and finally punished for all her crimes, and I can't understand for the life of me why Ann doesn't feel the same way.  After what Katherine did, you'd think she'd want that woman caught and put in prison so she couldn't hurt anyone again.  But despite how Ann feels, I will not rest until Katherine Wentworth is finally brought to justice for all the harm she's caused."

 

Christopher puts a reassuring hand on his father's shoulder.

Southfork....

 "Sue Ellen, thank you for comin' over,"  Ann says as she and Sue Ellen walk into the den at Southfork.

 

"Oh, you're welcome, it sounded urgent."

 

"Well, yes, and no.  I need your help."

 

"Of course.  You know you can count on me for anything.  Does this have anything to do with what we talked about a few days ago?"  

 

"No,"  Ann replies.  "It's about Bobby.  Today, as you probably know, would have been the 40th anniversary of his and Pam's first marriage."

 

"40 years,"  Sue Ellen says with a nostalgic smile.  "Hard to believe it's been that long."

 

"Yes, well, Bobby seemed a little down this mornin', and he was lookin' at some old photos of he and Pam.  I thought maybe, to cheer him up, we could have a big family dinner here tonight, with the whole family.  I'm gonna ask Ray and Donna and Conner over, and everyone else.  It could also be a dinner to celebrate Krystina and the baby comin' home a few days ago."

 

"Ann, I think that is a marvelous idea,"  Sue Ellen says.  "How can I help?"

 

"Well, it's already 11 a.m. so we have to hurry if we're gonna pull this off by tonight.  You could help with the menu.  It's kinda short notice to cook a whole big dinner here, so I thought maybe we'd use a caterer.  And you could also call some of the family and invite them."

 

"I'll be happy to.  This sounds like it's going to be lots of fun."

 

"I hope it will, and I hope it cheers Bobby up,"  Ann says.  "I figure everybody can just do some reminiscin'."

 

"Bobby will LOVE it,"  Sue Ellen says with a smile.

The Krebbs Ranch....early afternoon....

 Ray and Conner walk into the Krebbs home early that afternoon, coming home for lunch after a morning working on the ranch.  Donna comes into the foyer to meet them.  "Well, I have lunch ready for you, two."

 

"Thanks, I'm starved,"  Ray says, kissing her.  

 

"Ann just called,"  Donna says.  "She would like for the three of us to come over to Southfork for dinner tonight."

 

"What's the occasion?"  Ray asks.

 

"Just a little dinner for Bobby.  He's feeling a little down today because today would've been his and Pam's anniversary."

 

Ray sighs.  "I remember.  That's not somethin' I'd be likely to forget."

 

"Pam was Bobby's first wife, right?"  Conner asks.  

 

"Yes, that's right,"  Donna replies.  "Christopher's mother."

 

"I remember hearing her name mentioned when I lived at Southfork,"  says Conner.  

 

"Pam was somethin' special," Ray says.  "I thought she and I were gonna get hitched one day, til Bobby stole her away from me."

 

"What?  Bobby stole her away from you?"  Conner asks.

 

"That's right.  See, Pam and me, well, we'd been seein' each other off and on for about three years, and then I made the mistake of takin' her to a barbecue up at Southfork.  She got acquainted with Bobby there, and next thing I knew, he was bringin' her home as his bride a few months later."

 

"Wow.  Learn somethin' new every day."

 

"So how about it?"  Donna asks.  "Can I call Ann back and tell her we'll be over tonight?"

 

"Sure,"  replies Ray.  "Sounds like a fun evenin'.  We haven't been over to Southfork in quite some time anyway.  Conner?"

 

"Thanks, but, you guys go on without me,"  he says.

 

"Without you?  But why?"  Donna asks.

 

"I'm just not in the mood for a big family party, when we just left Dylan in that hospital a few days ago.  Plus, I don't really think it's a good idea for me to be around John Ross and Alex right now."

 

Donna and Ray exchange looks and Donna sighs.  "I didn't think about that."

 

"Yeah, neither did I,"  says Ray.

 

"Alright, fine.  We'll all stay home."

 

"No.  Come on, just because I can't go doesn't mean you guys can't.  Please, just go and have a good time."

 

"No, not without you,"  Ray says.

 

"Guys, please.  I'd really like the time to myself, anyway,"  Conner says.  "Ever since we left Dylan at the Hagman Center, I've been staying so busy I really haven't had a chance to just think or whatever.  Or to relax."

 

"So you're trying to get rid of us so you can relax?"  Donna asks with a smile.

 

"I'm not trying to get rid of you guys.  But, I don't want you staying home on my account, and I really could use the time to myself.  So please, go."

 

Donna looks at Ray.  "Well, Ray?"

 

"Okay.  We'll go to Southfork tonight,"  Ray says.  "I just think it stinks that you can't go with us because of somethin' you didn't even do."

 

"And, Conner, that's something else that we have to talk about,"  Donna says.

 

"Donna, if you're gonna try and convince to tell that Dylan was driving the car that hit Alex and his girlfriend that night, then just don't,"  says Conner.  "Because I'm not gonna add THAT on top of everything else Dylan is going through."

 

"Conner, this is going to affect the rest of your life,"  Donna says.

 

"I KNOW that.  Dylan is my brother.  And so far, his life has been hell.  I don't think that kid has ever had a really happy moment in his life.  And now, maybe he has a chance to get help for his drinking, and, HOPEFULLY, have a better future than he's had a past.  I am NOT gonna take that chance away from him.  Guys, if Dylan were charged with drunk driving that injured two teenagers, it would destroy his life, especially on top of everything else.  He'd go to prison, and he couldn't survive that.  And I would never be able to live with myself if I let that happen.  Please try to understand and try to respect my decision."

 

"If the truth of this comes out, then not only will Dylan be in trouble, but you will, too, for lying about this,"  says Donna.  "And Ray and I could also be implicated because we know the truth."

 

"No  one will find out.  Dylan has no memory of that night."

 

"And what he does remember?"  Ray asks.

 

"We just have to pray that he won't,"  Conner says.  "Look, I don't know.  We'll cross that bridge if we come to it.  But if he remembers, hopefully it won't be until he's out of treatment."

 

"Look, umm, lunch is getting cold, so why don't we head on into the kitchen and eat?"  Donna suggests.

 

"Sounds like a good idea,"  says Conner.  "I'm starved."  He looks at them, then turns and heads into the kitchen.

 

"I don't like this at all," Donna says.  

 

"Yeah, neither do I.  But Conner's an adult.  This is his choice, and nothin' we can do about it but stand by him.  Let's go eat."

 

Donna nods, then she and Ray follow Conner to the kitchen.

Catlin and Sue Ellen's home....late afternoon....

 While getting dressed in her and Catlin's bedroom that evening as he takes a shower, Sue Ellen opens a box sitting on top of her dresser and takes out a pair of pearls J.R. had given her that once belonged to Miss Ellie.  Looking at the pearls, she smiles as she thinks about her beloved former mother-in-law....

"Sue Ellen?"  Catlin's voice calls from behind her.  Sue Ellen turns to find her husband standing there, a towel around his waste after coming out of the shower.  "Wow, you looked like you were really deep in thought about something."

 

"I was.  These are Miss Ellie's pearls, and, I was just thinking about her.  What a strong and loving woman she was.  But, tough when she had to be.  Very, VERY tough when she had to be, whether it was with the family or some outside threat."

 

"I wish I had known her.  I've heard an awful lot about her from Bobby."

 

"She would've liked you and C.J. a lot.  And she would've loved getting to know another branch of the Ewing family."

 

Catlin smiles.  "You talk more about Miss Ellie than you do about your own mother."

 

"I felt closer to her than I did to my own mother.  Miss Ellie was always very fair, no matter what was happening between J.R. and myself......"

Her mind returning to the present, Sue Ellen has tears in her eyes.  "Well, we'd better hurry and finish getting dressed."

 

"I love you, Mrs. Ewing,"  Catlin says.  

 

"And I love you, my darling.  You know, until I met you, I never thought that I would find a third great love of my life.  But then you came along and proved me wrong."

 

Catlin smiles, then kisses her.

Southfork....later....

  Later that night, Bobby, Ann, Christopher, Courtney, Jacob, Lucas, Heather, Michael, John Ross, Krystina, Alex, Sue Ellen, Catlin, C.J., Justin, Jimmy, Ray, Donna, and Lucy are all gathered in the living room at Southfork, each sitting or standing around in their own little groups carrying on their individual conversations after dinner.  Ray, Donna, Bobby, Ann, Sue Ellen, and Catlin are standing by the fireplace chatting.

 

"Ann, that dinner was delicious,"  Ray says, patting his swollen stomach.  

 

Ann smiles.  "Thanks, Ray, but I can't take credit."

 

"Sue Ellen?"  Ray asks.  

 

"I'm afraid that I didn't make the dinner, either.  Neither did Maria,"  says Sue Ellen.

 

"It was such short notice and we didn't have time to prepare a whole family dinner, so, we cheated and called a caterer,"  says Ann.

 

"Well, then, the CATERER did a marvelous job,"  Donna says.

 

"And it sure is good to have everybody here tonight,"  Bobby says.  "It's a real shame Conner couldn't be here."

 

"Yeah, with this whole mess with Alex and the accident, Conner didn't wanna be here for John Ross to start any drama,"  says Ray.

 

"That's understandable.  But anyway, we're real glad you and Donna made it."

 

"Well, when Ann called and said that you needed some cheering up, we just had to come right over,"  says Donna.

 

"And I could always count on you for some cheerin' up,"  Bobby says, kissing her on the cheek.  "If only Gary and Val were here, this little family reunion would almost be complete."

 

"Well, we would've invited them, but I doubt that they could just drop everything and fly here from California on just a few hours notice,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

Ray smiles.  "Y'know, as long as were talkin' about rememberin' the good old days, the one memory that sticks in my mind, Bob, is that time you and J.R. were on that plane that went down and the rest of the family was here, not knowin' if you two were alive or dead."

 

"That's something I'll never forget, either,"  Sue Ellen says.  "What a terrible time for the family, especially for poor Jock and Miss Ellie."

 

"Miss Ellie was goin' through pure hell, but she never lost her resolve,"  Ray says.....

"J.R. and I sure didn't think we were gonna make it out of that one,"  Bobby says.  

 

"Thank God you did,"  says Ann.

 

"We prob'ly wouldn't have if  not for the survival techniques Daddy taught us,"  Bobby says.  "Ray, remember all those huntin' trips Daddy use to take us on?"

 

Ray smiles.  "I sure do.  Jock use to let me tag along before he even knew I was his son."

 

"Daddy always loved you like a son, Ray,"  Bobby says.  

 

Ray's mind travels back in time to a memory of his own from many years ago.  

"Ray?"  Donna says, snapping her husband back to the present.  

 

"Yeah?"

 

"Were were you just now?"

 

"I was just thinkin' about the day Jock told me that he was my father, and when he told the rest of the family," Ray says.  

 

"I can only imagine the look on J.R.'s face."

 

"Well, we were all pretty shocked about that," says Bobby.  "But I, for one, was very happy to have another brother.  Especially one I'd already been close to for 20 years."

 

"Did J.R. welcome you into the family with open arms?" Catlin asks.

 

Ray laughs.  "Well, I wouldn't say open arms.  Nope, J.R. never was too thrilled to have me as his brother."

 

"Just about as thrilled as he was to have my Daddy as a brother,"  Lucy says, walking over to the group.  "J.R. did everything in his power to keep my Mama and Daddy away from Southfork."

 

"But why?"  Catlin asks.  "I mean, you'd think the guy would've wanted to be close to his brothers.  Did something happen between J.R. and Gary?"

 

"Oh yes, something happened,"  Lucy replies.  "First, my Daddy was born.  Second, he didn't quite measure up to the Ewings.  Unlike J.R. and Granddaddy, my Daddy had a softer side.  He wasn't ruthless or willing to do anything to succeed.  Money and power weren't important to him.  They saw him as weak, especially when he started to drink.  And the third thing my Daddy did wrong.......he met my Mama, a girl J.R. considered trash."

 

"That's a bit harsh, isn't it, Lucy?"  Sue Ellen asks.

 

"It's not harsh at all.  After all, when my Mama and Daddy reunited and lived here at Southfork, J.R. couldn't stand it, so he drove Daddy away again, and tried to buy Mama off."

 

"Tried to buy her off?"  Ann asks.

 

"Oh, yes,"  Lucy replies....

"Wow, that's absolutely crazy,"  Catlin says.

 

"You wouldn't think so if you had known J.R.,"  says Donna.  "He enjoyed wielding power over people and pushing their buttons....."

"Well, cousin J.R. sounds like a barrel of laughs,"  says Catlin.

 

"He did have his moments,"  Bobby says.

 

"He sure did,"  Ann says.....

Back in the present, Bobby, Ann, Sue Ellen, Catlin, Ray, Lucy, and Donna are all laughing at Ann's memory of J.R.  "Ann, you actually threatened to shoot him?"  Lucy asks.

 

"Oh, yes, and I meant it, too."

 

"There were times when I felt like shooting J.R. myself over the years,"  Lucy says.

 

"I think we all felt that way at one time or another,"  Ray says.

 

 

 

 

"And a few people actually went through with it, INCLUDING Sue Ellen," Lucy says with a smile....

"Not one of my prouder moments,"  Sue Ellen says of that night so long ago.

 

"Hey, would you all excuse me?"  Bobby asks.  He walks away from the group and makes his way across the room to the bar, where Jimmy is pouring himself a drink.  "Jimmy, I didn't get to say this earlier, but, I'm real glad you came."

 

"Thank you, Uncle Bobby.  Means a lot that I was asked to be here.  Especially after Ann asked me to leave."

 

"Jimmy, I'm real sorry about that.  But I want you to know that you ARE welcome here, any time you wish to come back."

 

"Thank you,"  Jimmy says.

 

Bobby pats Jimmy on the back, then turns and walks over to the bar, where he pours himself a glass of bourbon as John Ross approaches him.  

 

"Nice little party,"  John Ross says to his uncle.

 

"Yes it is, very nice."

 

"Well, Uncle Bobby, I don't really know whether to wish you a happy anniversary or not, since you and Aunt Pam divorced that first time.  Do you count the first weddin' date as your anniversary, or the second weddin' date?  And what about April?  Do you celebrate your anniversary to her, too?"

 

"Very funny, John Ross.  And how many wedding anniversaries do YOU have to celebrate?  Let's see, there was Pamela, twice, and Amanda, and......"

 

"Okay, point taken, Uncle Bobby, no need to go through all my mistakes,"  says John Ross.  "Important thing is, with Krystina, I finally found my forever.  Same with you and Ann."

 

"Very true,"  Bobby says, taking a sip of his drink.

 

"You think any of us will ever get it right the first time, Uncle Bobby?"  John Ross asks.

 

"Oh, I dunno, Gary and Val's daughter Betsy and her husband Daniel Avery seem VERY happy together.  So do Margaret and Matt, and Jay and Jill."

 

"Well, I guess I stand corrected, then."

 

Bobby lets out a slight laugh.

 

"What the hell's so funny?"  John Ross asks.

"Just looking at Jimmy made me remember somethin',"  Bobby says.

 

"And what's that?"

 

"Speaking of multiple marriages, James has to be the only Ewing who's had two wives at the same time."

 

John Ross laughs.  "I'll be damned.  I had forgotten all about that."

 

"Well, you and Christopher were still pretty young.  But James had married Michelle Stevens, April's sister, and moved her in here to Southfork, and then who should show up out of the blue but Debra Lynn, with little Jimmy in tow, claiming that she was still married to James....."

Bobby and John Ross laugh at the situation John Ross's brother had found himself in so long ago.  "But y'know, Uncle Bobby, James wasn't the only Ewing who found himself married to one woman, and fathering a child with another.  And the livin' proof of your little......ummm, whatever you wanna call it........is right over there," John Ross says, pointing to Lucas across the room.

 

Bobby looks over at his younger son as Lucas chats with Justin, Heather, Courtney, and Michael, and a few memories come back to him.....

"It was ironic, but it was at my second wedding to Pam that I first laid eyes on April,"  Bobby says.

 

"You gotta be kiddin',"  says John Ross.

 

"No, I'm not kiddin'.  April, who of course was our cousin Jack Ewing's ex-wife, arrived at the wedding as the date of Cliff Barnes....."

"That was quite a day,"  Bobby says.

 

"What was quite a day?"  Christopher asks, walking over to his father and John Ross.

 

"I was just tellin' John Ross about the first time I ever saw April.  It was at my second wedding to your mother."

 

"Well, if y'all will excuse me, I'm gonna go see what my wife is up to,"  John Ross says, then walks away.  

 

"Dad, I'm glad we have a chance to talk alone for a minute,"  Christopher says.  "I was gonna talk to you about this when we were riding back from the cemetery this morning, but, you had a lot on your mind and the time didn't seem right."

 

"Well, this sounds serious,"  Bobby says.  

 

"It is.  But don't worry, Dad, it's good news for a change."

 

"What is it?  I'm dyin' to hear."

 

"I've decided that I want to legally adopt Jacob," Christopher replies.  "Of course there are gonna be obstacles........Chase Gioberti, for one.  But it's something I wanna do, and hopefully, Gioberti won't stand in the way."

 

Bobby smiles.  "Christopher, that's wonderful.  It really is.  It's very plain to see that you love that little boy."

 

"I really do, Dad.  I love Jacob like he was my own."

 

"I sure know that feeling well,"  Bobby says.  "And I know that you will be the best father Jacob could ever ask for."

 

"Yeah, well, if I am, it's only because I had the best example.  You brought me home under, really bizarre circumstances, and you came to love me like I was your own son."

 

"That was easy to do from the very first moment I brought you home,"  Bobby says.....

"You were then, and you still are the most important thing in my life, Christopher,"  Bobby says, placing his hand on his son's shoulder.  "You and your brother, both.  And I have never once looked at you as anything but my own flesh and blood.  As far as I'm concerned, you are."

 

"Dad, you know what you told me when I was a little kid, that you and I should never be ashamed to say I love you to each other?"

 

"Yes."

 

"Well........I love you, Dad."

 

"And I love you,"  Bobby says, hugging his son.  

 

Standing across the room, John Ross is watching Bobby and Christopher as the two share an embrace.  Sue Ellen walks over to her son.  

 

"John Ross," she says.  "Is everything alright?  Where's Krystina?"

 

"She went upstairs to check on Ellie and Little John."

 

"Is something on your mind?"

 

 

"I was just watching Christopher and Uncle Bobby," replies John Ross.  "I always envied the relationship those two have.  Wish I could've had that kinda relationship with my own father."

 

"There was a time when you and J.R. were very close," Sue Ellen says.  "Your father loved you, John Ross."

 

"Yeah, I guess in his own way, he did,"  John Ross says........

"Our relationship hasn't always been an easy one, either,"  Sue Ellen says.....

Sue Ellen looks at John Ross.  "J.R. and I made more than our share of mistakes over the years," she says.  "But when I look at you, and at our grandchildren........."  she pauses a moment and looks across the room at Alex......... "I know that you are the ONE the two of us DID get right."

 

"You hadn't always felt that way.  Especially the time I had you committed."

 

"I wasn't always the best mother, John Ross, and, you haven't always been the best son.  But at least, we've tried.  And I hope that now, we're past all that.  Our relationship is better today than it's been in a long time, and I hope that continues."

 

John Ross looks at his mother and nods.  "Me, too," he says.  

 

"I think I'm going upstairs and look in on my grandbabies,"  Sue Ellen says, and walks away.  

 

Meanwhile, Lucy is at the bar pouring herself a drink when Ray walks up to her.  "You been kinda quiet this evenin'," he says.  "Anything wrong?"

 

"No, it's just that, with all this traveling down memory lane going on here tonight, I can't help but to think about a few memories of my own,"  Lucy says.....

"We were all pretty wild in those days, weren't we?"  Ray asks.

 

Lucy laughs slightly.  "Yeah.  Y'know, it didn't seem like it then, but, those were some good times.  I sure wish I could just blink my eyes and go back in time."

 

"That's why we have memories.  All we gotta do is close our eyes, and we can do just that."

 

"But not all the memories are good,"  says Lucy.

 

"Mickey?"

 

Lucy nods.  "I really loved  him, Ray.  Sometimes I wonder how different things might have been if he'd lived."

 

"I  know, so do I,"  Ray says, putting his arms around Lucy and pulling her into an embrace.

Southfork....later....

 Sue Ellen comes down the stairs at Southfork later that night and finds Bobby in the den.  Pausing at the door, she watches him for a few seconds as he picks up a framed photo from the piano and looks at it, then she walks into the room.  "Bobby," she says.

 

"Oh, Sue Ellen."

 

"I'm leaving now.  Where's Catlin?"

 

"He went out to take a phone call from his sister, Blaine,"  Bobby replies.

 

"Oh.  Tonight was very special."

 

Bobby smiles.  "Yes, it was.  And thank you for helping Ann put this night together, and for being a part of it."

 

"And I thank YOU, Bobby,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

"Thank me, for what?"  Bobby asks.

 

"Just for being a part of my life all these years."

 

"Well, it has been my pleasure."

 

Sue Ellen looks around the room.  "So much has happened in this room, in this HOUSE.  Some of it good, some of it bad.  So many people have come and gone over the years........Jock and Miss Ellie, Pam, Clayton, Dusty, April.  Cally."

 

"And let's not forget.....so many fights."

 

Sue Ellen laughs.  "Yes, the fights.  As they says, if these walls could talk.  Do you remember the day that Miss Ellie got the news from Donna that the Justice Department was launching a criminal investigation into Ewing Oil because of J.R.'s connection to that madman, B.D. Calhoun?"

 

"Boy, do I,"  Bobby says.  "I'd never seen Clayton so mad......."

"I remember J.R. saying that Clayton was one of the few men he had never been able to break,"  Sue Ellen says.  

 

"Because Clayton wasn't afraid of J.R.  More like the other way around.  Well, Sue Ellen, I'm gonna call it a night and go up and join Annie.  Good night, and thank you again."

 

"Goodnight, Bobby,"  Sue Ellen says as Bobby kisses her on the cheek, then leaves the room.  After Bobby has gone upstairs, Sue Ellen takes another look around the den and then the foyer, her mind flooded with memories of the years she called this place her home.  There were good years and bad years, but none of those years were ever dull.....

 

 

 

 

The bittersweet memories bring tears to Sue Ellen's eyes.  She looks around the room one more time, again thinking of all the times she spent in this room, in this house.  She walks into the foyer and looks at the staircase, then, following another brief pause, she smiles as she turns and walks out.

 

Created By

DAVID JACOBS

 

Written By

JOHN WALDEN

 

Write a comment

Comments: 28
  • #1

    Kathy (Monday, 02 April 2018 21:35)

    A very touching tribute thanks John.

  • #2

    Janie Fleischer (Monday, 02 April 2018 22:25)

    Wow just wow you brought the past and present together like nobody else could ever. This episode really pulled at the heart strings This episode was a gift a precious gift. Thank you so much John

  • #3

    Parker Bena (Monday, 02 April 2018 23:34)

    Best episode ever. Next, we need to get back to battling the Scumbag Quartet.

  • #4

    Heath (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 02:59)

    I literally had tears in my eyes. Great episode to remember the greatest soap opera of all time!

  • #5

    Charlotte Collins (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 05:35)

    E One of the best stories you have ever wrote. I think your stories are very wonderful and it would be nice if you would put extra videos in them like you did this one remembering the past. You could incorporate it with what you’re writing now each time and make the story that much better. Videos fit in very well. Mix the past with the future and help us to remember some of those scenarios that we may have forgotten in past videos. Thank you so much.

  • #6

    Melissa mckendry (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 05:52)

    It was amazing i handent even finshed reading some of the esposed i skipped to see this one well done all the way from northern ireland xx

  • #7

    Chris Hawkins (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 06:59)

    John,
    Great writing, so many memories of the past episodes, great writing!

    Chris

  • #8

    Derek Mathews (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 07:05)

    This was so amazing! The videos, the past, and the present all in one episode. Very impressive John! You are truly a soap opera genius, and the most knowledgeable soap opera person I have met. I wish you had gotten the chance to write and produce Dallas instead of Cynthia Cidre and her team of writers and producers. Maybe the show being on CBS would have worked better as John said.

  • #9

    Cindy Shaft (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 09:20)

    Just beautiful. Well written, great video choices. I finished watching all 14 season in the fall and have been thinking about rewatching them again. You put must of the great scenes in this story. Just perfect. Thank you for all the time you put into this. I would put this on you tube for anyone and everyone to enjoy.

  • #10

    Brian (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 10:03)

    The two A's describe this amazing and awesome loved it thanks John loved the videos too

  • #11

    Verena (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 10:13)

    Great episode with a lot of memories. It also fits very well to the original show's 40th anniversary we are celebrating at the moment. I really liked the characters' different perspectives on Bobby and Pam's 40th wedding anniversary, especially Bobby and Cliff's very contrasting ones. It is remarkle how many characters and relationships Pam's character connects. Of course, I loved the sweet scene between Cliff and Afton. She is certainly starting to warm up to him, at least until the next time he makes her mad which will certainly come. :)) I can also only agree with Afton's statement: how could she ever get involved with J.R.?? Thanks for all the hard work, John.

  • #12

    Marie Kinsey (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 10:40)

    This was truly amazing. I cried through the videos. This is your masterpiece. A job well done. You truly are an amazing writer. Thank you so much.

  • #13

    John Walden (Tuesday, 03 April 2018 13:11)

    Thank you, everyone. I wanted this 40th anniversary episode, a milestone, to be something really special, with characters reliving the past. I wanted to honor Larry Hagman, Barbara Bel Geddes, Jim Davis, and Howard Keel. I put most of these videos together myself, but a couple came from Youtube.

  • #14

    francis stricker (Wednesday, 04 April 2018 11:33)

    A very touching tribute thanks John. Wow just wow you brought the past and present together like nobody else could ever. This episode really pulled at the heart strings This episode was a gift a precious gift. Thank you so much John Best episode ever. Next, we need to get back to battling the Scumbag QuartetE One of the best stories you have ever wrote. I think your stories are very wonderful and it would be nice if you would put extra videos in them like you did this one remembering the past. You could incorporate it with what you’re writing now each time and make the story that much better. Videos fit in very well. Mix the past with the future and help us to remember some of those scenarios that we may have forgotten in past videos. Thank you so much. E One of the best stories you have ever wrote. I think your stories are very wonderful and it would be nice if you would put extra videos in them like you did this one remembering the past. You could incorporate it with what you’re writing now each time and make the story that much better. Videos fit in very well. Mix the past with the future and help us to remember some of those scenarios that we may have forgotten in past videos. Thank you so much.

  • #15

    Merrel Breyer (Wednesday, 04 April 2018 14:57)

    Wonderful way to celebrate 40 years of Dallas.

  • #16

    Parker Bena (Friday, 06 April 2018 22:23)

    Sue Ellen throwing that bottle at J.R.'s head indirectly led to the Southfork Fire at the end of Season 6 and the beginning of Season 7 of the original series.

  • #17

    Perry cox (Saturday, 07 April 2018 12:25)

    Amazing episode! Looking back at all those old scenes really takes me back to my childhood. Thanks and keep up the great work

  • #18

    Derek Mathews (Saturday, 07 April 2018 12:47)

    @Parker Bena, the first time I saw that video of Sue Ellen throwing that bottle near JRs head. I'm going to be honest, that shit scared out of me, and made me jump! She almost nearly hit him, and if she had, she might have killed him. But when Sue Ellen was at her best, she could take down anybody! I loved the healthy, strong, beautiful, ambitious, Sue Ellen. The one that acted like a boss, and sometimes even a bitch.

  • #19

    Derek Mathews (Saturday, 07 April 2018 13:09)

    I swear, the Ewing men and they condone themselves with relationships is beyond me! Almost Ewing man has been married at least TWICE or more. The only exception is Lucas Ewing, and he and Heather plan on being married to each other for a long time. They probably plan on having another child, despite the fact that Lucas unknowingly doesn't know that Baby Logan Chase is his child.

  • #20

    Derek Mathews (Saturday, 07 April 2018 13:21)

    Loved all the history this show has, the relationships that the Barnes and Ewing family have with JR Ewing. I love the relationships that were shown between Bobby, Pam, and Christopher, and JR, Sue Ellen, and John Ross. John Ross and Sue Ellen, and JR and Sue Ellen.

  • #21

    Rose Meisenhelder (Saturday, 07 April 2018 15:00)

    Can I assume Austin is still stuck out in the boonies with his psycho brother and Justin's cousins? Are we ever getting back to them.

  • #22

    John Walden (Saturday, 07 April 2018 15:23)

    @Rose......yes, that story will wrap up in the next Falcon Crest episode, which I have about half way finished. Then Austin will return to Dallas to reclaim what is his.

  • #23

    Susan Masterson (Saturday, 07 April 2018 16:35)

    What a fantastic tribute for 40 years of Dallas. The flashbacks were incredible and you did so much work to accomplish this episode. Thank you very much. I truly enjoyed it. John Walden

  • #24

    Derek Mathews (Saturday, 07 April 2018 18:48)

    @John Walden: I can't wait for Austin to reclaim what he has lost in Dallas! Maybe him and Jonathan can WORK together at Wentworth Industries. It would be great for the two brothers to get to know each other in business too because neither of them has any idea of what it means to do business with the other.

  • #25

    francis stricker (Monday, 09 April 2018 08:51)

    john you should keep making closing

  • #26

    Karyn Raschke (Monday, 09 April 2018 20:13)

    You did a really nice job on this anniversary special, John. I loved seein the flashbacks. Doesn’t seem so long since Dallas first aired. I especially want to thank you for keeping the series and the characters alive! I look forward to all your writing John!

  • #27

    Dallas fan (Tuesday, 29 May 2018 12:43)

    John, great walk down memory lane! Thanks for this special episode!

  • #28

    Daniel (Thursday, 24 January 2019 16:11)

    Another great episode I have to say I have not found that one yet that I wouldn't read again. Thanks John for the awome work